Image by Matthis Lehmkühler.

Frontiers of Statistical Mechanics and Theoretical Computer Science 2021

Online and in-person, December 13-15, 2021

Organizers: Tyler Helmuth (Durham) and Will Perkins (UIC)

Description

A central question in theoretical computer science concerns computational phase transitions that separate parameter regimes for which efficient algorithms do/do not exist. It is not a coincidence that this terminology has been borrowed from the physical sciences: there are, in some instances, rigorous links between computational and physical phase transitions. This confluence has led to an exciting research area exploring these connections and transferring ideas between fields.

This mini-workshop series is aimed at promoting further interaction between the theoretical computer science and mathematical physics communities. We hope this contributes to the development of new techniques for algorithms, statistical mechanics, and combinatorics, as well as the discovery of further common research interests.


The workshop will be held in a satellite format: talks will be given online via Zoom on Monday December 13 - Wednesday December 15, 2021 from 3:00pm-6:00pm UTC time (10am-1pm Eastern Time; 4pm-7pm Central European Time). Participants are welcome to attend talks remotely from anywhere in the world; there will also be satellite workshops in Chicago and Durham (and other locations TBD) at which particpants can watch the talks together and then partipcate in discussions and working groups in-person. If you're interested in organizing a satellite meeting, please contact us and we will assist in any way possible.


2020 Workshop: Uniqueness Methods in Statistical Mechanics

Registration

To participate please register here: Registration Form

Program

The workshop will feature three introductory survey talks and eight research talks, with the remaining time reserved for discussions and work in the satellite groups.

Survey talks:


Research talks: