Uniqueness methods in statistical mechanics: recent developments and algorithmic applications

Online, December 14-16, 2020

Organizers: Tyler Helmuth (Durham) and Will Perkins (UIC)

Description

A central question in theoretical computer science concerns computational phase transitions, where the transition separates parameters for which efficient algorithms do (or do not) exist. This terminology, inspired by notions of phase transitions in statistical physics, is no coincidence: in some instances there are precise links between these two different notions of transition.

Mathematical physicists have developed several tools, including the cluster expansion, to prove the absence of a phase transition. Recently, these ideas have been used extensively for the development of algorithms, i.e., to verify the absence of a computational phase transition. Conversely, computer science techniques have lead to improvements in bounds in long-standing problems in statistical mechanics. This mini-workshop aims to bring these two communities into closer contact, to exchange ideas and problems, and to spur further progress.


The workshop will be held online via Zoom on Monday December 14 - Wednesday December 16, 2020 from 3:00pm-6:00pm UTC time (10am-1pm Eastern Time; 4pm-7pm Central European Time).

Registration

To receive the Zoom and Gather.Town links, please register by completing the form here: Registration Form

Program

The workshop will feature two introductory talks and nine research talks, with the remaining time reserved for informal discussions. All times below are UTC time.
Monday December 14:


Tuesday December 15:


Wednesday December 16: